Back in the oven again! (or The Vanishing No-Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies)

We have an oven again!!! I celebrated by making my favorite cookies, the Vanishing Oatmeal Anything Cookies… or I planned to. 

After I had creamed the butter and sugar, and added the eggs, vanilla
and all-purpose flour, I realized that I only had steel-cut oats,
not the rolled oats the recipe called for. I had to either soak the
steel-cut oats (and thus delay my cookies by hours, not an option when
baking at 10 PM on a weeknight)
or find some other way. I added 2c of flour, until it looked about
right, and dumped in an entire bag of chocolate chips instead of just
1c, on the theory that anything with that much chocolate in it can’t
be all bad!

Vanishing No-Oatmeal Cookies

 

Vanishing No-Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
(with thanks to the Quaker Oat company, whose recipe I once used
before I started making changes)
1/2 lb. (2 sticks) butter, softened
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 bag Ghiardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips, or whatever you have.

Heat the oven to 350F, and cream together the sugar and butter (I use
a stand mixer, you don’t have to.)
Add the eggs and vanilla, mix well.
Add the flour, baking soda, and salt and mix well, then add the
chocolate chips and mix gently.

Shape into small balls (1 tsp size is best, and makes a great one or
two-bite cookie) and bake for 8-12 minutes. Even with convection
bake, I found that these were more on the 12 minute end, and even so
were tender and soft when they cooled. For a crisper cookie, you may
want 14 minutes or slightly less flour.

Leave a Reply

