Cinnamon Sugar Crisps – October 1944

The rolled cookies in this book and I are not getting along. 

1000001223.JPG

These molasses cookies (the war is still on, so sugar is still rationed) remind me a lot of my former housemate’s Groundhog Cookies,  or a ginger snap, except that they don’t have any ginger. (This could be fixed)  Even without ginger, the dough is spicy, dark and molasses-y.

The editor’s notes in the book informed me that I should refrigerate the dough at least 3 hours, so it wouldn’t be too soft to roll.  I actually refrigerated it for 3 days, because I got busy. It was not
soft when I took it out of the fridge, and I used plenty of flour on  the board and the rolling pin,  but it got really soft and sticky *very* fast during rolling and cutting.

Even with heavily-floured cookie cutters, I ended up with a  few nice looking cookies (especially smaller ones) a few slightly weird ones that sorted themselves out while baking, and a bunch of
cookie lumps. By the time I got to the second sheet, I just used the dough card to scrape the (now very soft) dough onto a piece of parchment paper (which I forgot to put under the nicely-cut cookies, oops) and stuck the whole thing in the oven.

Now I have a few cookies cooling and trying to weld themselves to the pan (I lost a few more
leaves when I tried to remove them while warm) and a sheet of cookie-lump. Very tasty, though. I wonder if this one might be better with a little more flour to make it less sticky…

Edit:  I saved them!  The big sheet of cookie that was on parchment paper tasted lovely, and I was able to use a cookie cutter to get soft, brownie-like cookies out of it.   They did not have smooth edges like a proper rolled cookie, and the texture is fudgy-brownie-like, but they saved me from having to make another batch of cookies to take to my choir social. 

Leave a Reply

