Cinnamon Rolls

DSC_4788.JPG

While in Costco today picking up the requisite 48 eggs and 25# bag of
flour (yes, really), I saw Cinnabon mini rolls in their freezer case.
I really really wanted them, but they had way too many
polysyllabic ingredients, so I refrained. With great difficulty, mind
you!

Having exercised my willpower that much left me really craving sweets,
though, so I began to plan dinner around making cinnamon rolls from scratch.

For the cinnamon rolls, I used the brioche recipe from “The Bread
Lovers’ Bread Machine Cookbook”, done on the dough cycle. That is:

  • 1/2c plus one tbsp milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks (plus one mistakenly added egg white)
  • 2 3/4 c flour (330g)
  • 2 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp gluten (recipe calls for one, but also calls for bread flour)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 tsp SAF yeast
  • 10 tbsp butter, cut into pieces and added slowly during the end of the knead cycle

When the dough cycle was done, I spread the bread out on a
well-floured cutting board, and covered it in cinnamon sugar (premade
from the last time I did snickerdoodles, but probably 3:1
sugar:cinnamon) and melted butter (around 4 tbsp, I think). Then I
rolled it, greased a glass baking pan, and cut the roll into 2″
pieces. The dough was very delicate and soft, so the cutting
flattened the rolls and they had to be reshaped a little in the pan,
but it wasn’t too hard.

DSC_4788.JPG

We ate the first three of these with the Corned Beet Hash and poached eggs, without frosting, but for dessert
Brian helped me make some frosting based on an internet recipe for
Cinnabon (with variations, of course):

  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 4 tbsp butter (recipe called for margarine, we don’t stock it)
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1.5 c powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon extract (the original recipe called for vanilla, but we had the cinnamon…)

Beat until creamy, and spread on the cinnamon rolls just before eating!

Leave a Reply

