Dim-sum style"Turnip" Cakes

The turnip is in quotes because this has no turnip. “Daikon Cake”
would be a better name for the original recipe. I, however, also did
not have daikon, so I used parsnips, radish and carrots to make a nice
imitation of one of my favorite dim sum dishes. I started from this recipe, but diverged pretty quickly. (I know, you’re shocked)

The Substitition List

No daikon -> radish, carrot and parsnip No rice flour -> potato flour and pastry flour

The Recipe

  • ~ 3 cups finely chopped carrot, parsnip and radish (I let the food processor run for a while)
  • 1.5 c water
  •  2c potato flour 
  • 1/2c pastry flour (I started with just the potato flour, but it looked too soupy)
  •  1 tsp salt

The Process

I let this sit overnight, which is totally optional—I think it neither hurt nor helped, but I didn’t have time to steam it for an hour before leaving for choir Tuesday night, and did not have the inclination to do so after I got home. The steaming was a bit of an adventure. I needed to find something in which I could fit my 10″ round cake pan, which would not run out of water in an hour and which I could prop said cake pan over the water level. I tried our pasta pot with a metal bowl, but steam got trapped under the bowl and bounced it around. Then I tried our metal colander in the pasta pot, but the colander is just a little too tall for that—the lid wasn’t on, so no steamer there. The winner was the colander in our *huge* soup pot, which was a little awkward to get the cake pan into and out of (I ended up with veggie goop on one of the hot pads) but totally worked.

Fits in the Big Pot!Steaming the "turnip" cake

1 hour of steaming later, I had the firm to the touch texture that the
recipe suggested. (I was really not sure this would work, since I was
barely following the recipe at this point.) I let it cool on a wire
rack for another hour, then ran a knife around the edge and turned it
over onto a cutting board. Nothing happened, so I took a gigantic ice
cube and iced the bottom of the cake pan a bit, then thumped it hard.
That popped a nice jelly-looking orange thing out of the pan!

Steamed and coolingDecanted from the cake pan

It was pretty tasty even without frying (which is apparently a totally
valid way to eat it) but I wanted the authentic well, I wanted
a tasty fried thing. So I put a little peanut oil in a pan and fried
slices for about 2 minutes on a side. They stuck to the pan a bit, but
came out quite good! I ate some with Sriracha, but it would also have
been good with watered-down soy sauce with spices, or with plum sauce
or something.

Fried with Sriracha

 

Brian fried some this morning in more oil, and they came out like the
most delicious hash brown sticks ever.

 

Leave a Reply

