How Not to Make Ganache (or "Truffles, Part 1: The Ganache")

I used the food processor to break up the 90% (read: very bitter, not sweet) Valrhona chocolate I bought last month at Whole Foods. The food processor is not airtight, which we have previously observed with flour. It is also not chocolate-powder tight. That whole area of the counter and part of the floor were covered with chocolate dust.

41BEA30E-0E31-4C91-9EC9-C666D215EBBB.JPG

What I got out looked more like coffee grounds than chocolate: FF5A424E-FDB7-4227-82F9-3C9DC51E1F88.JPG

I got about 2 cups of chocolate grounds out of the 1# block of chocolate, and added it to my 2c of heated cream. The result was really bitter, so I added .5c of maple syrup. I’m not sure which did it, but either the water in the syrup (which I should have reduced) or the super-thick cream (a local, organic cream I found at WF) or the powdered chocolate caused the ganache to seize: F52A3333-EA64-4571-9CF0-114B0F502692.JPG

The result was a bowl of somewhat gritty chocolate, surrounded by a pool of ugly yellow liquid: 5348B181-9C3F-4933-8712-698CD545AE21.JPG

I consulted my local chocolate expert and she told me that seized ganache is *not* the end of the world—often it can be saved. On her advice, I poured off the liquid and put the ganache in the refrigerator to cool as usual.

This morning, I was pleasantly surprised to discover a bowl of completely useable, tasty ganache in my refrigerator! DSC_5230.JPG There are a few marbled areas where I didn’t pour off all the yellow liquid fat, but they can either be dug out or mashed into the truffles as I roll them.

Stay Tuned for Part 2: Truffles, The Rolling

Leave a Reply

