Potato Soup

Yesterday was a cold*, grey day here in the Watch City—the perfect kind of day for soup. Last week’s CSA box was full of potatoes, and I love potato soup, so that settled it. I do not, however, have a favorite recipe. After reading half a dozen, I decided to wing it.

Recipe

  • 4 tbsp (approximately) of butter
  • 1 medium onion, roughly chopped

Toss the onion in with the butter. More fastidious cooks would say to melt the butter first, but it didn’t seem to matter.

How to start cooking anything

 

  • 8-10 (or whatever you have) medium-sized potatoes, cut in 1″ pieces.
  • Enough water to not-quite cover the potatoes.

 

Boiling Potatoes

I told you I wasn’t fastidious, right? Nor precise. You were warned. I really think that you could use a lot more or a lot less potatoes. I had somewhere between 8 and 10 potatoes, which seemed like enough. I also didn’t peel them, I just scrubbed them with a Dobie (nylon kitchen scubbing sponge, good for everything!), chopped them and tossed them in. I boiled the potatoes for probably 30 minutes, until they were quite soft and tender, but the timing was more dependent on how long it took me to get a minute to check on them while entertaining a toddler than the precise cooking time they actually *needed*. This recipe is very forgiving. (My favorite kind!)

  • Salt and pepper to taste, maybe some garlic or other spices.
  • Some milk or cream

I didn’t even measure these. I added some salt and pepper and tasted it, and added maybe a teaspoon of garlic. I’m not sure it was tasteable. When the soup was done, I let it cool a bit because it was too early for dinner. When it was time to eat, I pureéd it with the immersion blender, comforted the toddler who *hates* the immersion blender, and put it back on the stove. I let her help me pour in some milk to get over her tears, so it was “until it looked like the right consistency”.

  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • bread or crackers.

Potato Soup and Cheese!

I actually didn’t shred the cheese at first, because I am lazy, but it made a big difference. Shredded cheese melted into the soup a lot better than even a thin slice. If you wanted to be really decadent, you could put a piece of bread in the bottom of an oven-safe bowl, pour some soup over, put cheese on top and stick it under the broiler (I just thought of that, and may now have to try it with the leftovers!)

 

*Yes, I know it’s not cold for February in New England. You can have days that are cold-enough-for-soup in July. It’s a relative thing.

Leave a Reply

