Ganache Cookies

Ganache Cookies

I decided to make some cookies with the four whites and two whole extra eggs I cracked while making bao. Since I was making cookies anyway, I figured I might be able to use some of the extra ganache in them. I totally made up the recipe, but I liked the results, so it is presented here for your approval:

Dough:

  • 1c brown sugar
  • .5c white sugar
  • two sticks (1c) butter
  • 4 egg whites, 2 eggs
  • 4.5 c flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp (ish) vanilla

Mix wet ingredients. Mix in dry ingredients. Blend thoroughly. Refrigerate??for an hour or so (probably not necessary, but I made the dough during Emi’s nap and wanted her to get to help with the actual cookie-making part.)

Making the Cookies:

I tried two things here. The first was making balls and putting a thumbprint in them, like thumbprint jelly cookies, and then filling that with ganache rather than jelly. (But baking the ganache). That came out a bit crumbly. (It also left chocolate easily accessible to my Junior Baking Assistant, which turned out to be an issue. “Emi, where did the chocolate that was on these cookies go?” “Mouth! More chocolate?”)

Thumbprint cookies

The second was rolling a ball of dough around a ball of ganache, for chocolate surprises. Those turned out *amazingly*—the ganache is tender and chocolately, the cookies are soft and chewy, and the outside is just a tiny bit crisp.

Chocolate Surprise cookies Inside of a Chocolate Surprise cookie

Leave a Reply

