Braised and Glazed radishes with radish greens, tomatoes, eggs and strawberriesi

I am not a huge radish fan. Or, should I say, I wasn’t. These were really good!
I removed and washed the greens and set them aside, quartered the radishes and trimmed the tails, and melted 2 tbsp of butter in a saucepan. Once the butter was melted, I tossed in the radishes and let them brown a little before putting in .5c of water. From that point, I followed Bittman’s “Braised and Glazed” recipe for the roots. E declared them “French fries” and was begging for more while everything else cooked.

For the greens, I chopped a clove of garlic and fried it in a bit more butter, then tossed in the radish greens and some grape tomatoes, as well as some chives—vaguely following yhis reicipe: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Sauteed-Radishes-105226
but just the greens part and with some tomatoes. Then I fried a few eggs and served them and the greens and the radishes over rice.

The greens were still a little bitter, but not so much that they weren’t edible. The tomatoes and some fresh, very ripe strawberries helped round out the flavors of the meal, and I made some Upton Tea Formosa Keemun (our favorite black tea) to go with it all. What I did not do is take any pictures, so you will have to use your imaginations.

Leave a Reply

