Mint Fudgesicles (free mint salad included w/each!)

IMG_2962

I have lots of fond memories of sharing fudgesicles with my Mom when I was about Jr Taster’s age, so I wanted to try making some. Smitten Kitchen to the rescue: she has a great-looking recipe for fudge popsicles. Yay!

But my garden is overrun with chocolate mint again, and chocolate mint is perfect in chocolate (hence the name), so I made *mint* fudgesicles. I used about 20 fresh mint leaves, which made these deliciously minty. I probably only actually needed one sprig (10ish leaves), but I was nervous that the pudding didn’t taste minty enough.
I made two mistakes in these: first, I should have infused the mint into the milk, and then filtered it out. Instead, I added with the milk, to the pudding, so there are leaves that I was unable to pick out before freezing, stuck in the popsicles. Also, infusing would have let me control the minty-ness a little more.

The second is that I forgot to add the vanilla and the butter after taking the pudding off the stove. My Jr Taster was begging for more tastes (for good reason—we totally could have just eaten the pudding, other than the fact that it was really, really hot) so I didn’t realize there were more steps until after they were in the popsicle moulds and cooling. I also didn’t wait for 30m into the freezing to add the popsicle sticks—they stood up just fine in the barely-cooled pudding.

These are amazing. I also have little (2oz or less) popsicle moulds, so this made 7 for me with wooden sticks. (If I filled them enough to use the sticks that came with the mould, it would probably have only made 6, since those have lids and look weird with partly-filled moulds. I want to make more and more and more and more and more. I had one for dessert last night after Jr Taster went to bed, and other than picking out pieces of mint they are amazing. Tomorrow I will probably let Jr Taster have one (OUTSIDE, thank you very much. Possibly in her little swimming pool. Certainly with nearby washcloths and hose.) and I will get Sr Taster to help me eat up the mint-filled ones so I can make some without the Bonus Salad.

Leave a Reply

