Quick Candied Nuts

I decided to add some candied nuts to my otherwise boring salad plan. I had just under a cup of pecans, and a big Costco bag of frozen walnuts in the freezer, so I started with the pecans:

Melt over low heat in a small skillet:
2 tbsp butter

Add:
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 cup pecans
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt

Stir for 2-3 minutes until the sugar melts and bubbles, then dump to cool on parchment paper.

They turned out really yummy, even though I nearly burned them. In fact, nearly burning the sugar may have been exactly what they needed.

I ate like half of them while finishing cooking dinner, so I decided to do 1c of walnuts and add a little heat. I discovered while melting butter that we are apparently *OUT OF CAYENNE PEPPER* (!?!) so I just tossed in 1/2c of paprika.

They didn’t come out right. My best guess is that the sugar didn’t quite melt enough, and I should have let those almost burn, too.

20130226-182516.jpg

Leave a Reply

