Sweet Potato Muffins

DSC_6679.JPG

I am really into making muffins at the moment. Just as easy as quick breads, but they come in neat, single-serving pre-made portions—and Jr Baker loves them. Today I discovered that she loves micro-muffins even more!

My sister gave us some adorable silicone mini-muffin cups for Christmas. They were kind of a disaster when I used them for thin cupcake batter (the batter ran over the sides and made them very hard to get out of the cups) but this muffin batter was so thick that I decided to give them another chance.
They’re perfect!
DSC_6681.JPG

Jr Baker ate three before I told her that was enough, and then amused herself playing with the cups while I had some tea. (Also a win, tea is important)

I had a lot of sweet potatoes (6, which after being grated was 2 lbs) so I doubled Ian’s Crazy French Canadian Adventurer Zucchini Bread recipe (as adapted by me).

Here it is without doubling:

Dry:
2.5 c flour
1.5 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1.5 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp salt

Wet:
3 eggs
1c vegetable oil
.5 c sugar (the original had 1.5c, but I prefer less sweet muffins)
1 lb peeled and grated sweet potato (or zucchini, squash, turnip, carrot…)

Mix dry ingredients, mix wet ingredients, mix wet into dry. Bake at 350F until a toothpick or knife comes out clean.

The little ones baked for 20 minutes, the big ones for 35 (but ymmv, my oven tends to be on the slow side.) For bread in a loaf pan, bake 60-90 minutes.

These are really good. I have only had one failure with this recipe (using frozen mixed vegetables as the veggie) and even that was just a little odd, not actually *bad*.

One thought on “Sweet Potato Muffins

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Muffins | Stuff Kat Made

Leave a Reply

