A sunshine hat

This is my first attempt at a new pattern—a combination crochet and knit summer hat for a friend:

20130419-002545.jpg

The color doesn’t come across very well in the photo, but it is Blue Mint from the Caron Simply Soft line:
. The color reminds me of sunny summer day blue skies, getting the “sunny day” feeling without being sunshine yellow, which doesn’t suit most people’s complexions.

The pattern is from Ravelry and I will totally make another to keep.

The crochet part was really easy. The knitting part should have been pretty easy, but I am still so bad at knitting. This is my first completely successful attempt at using circular needles. The places where I had trouble were (1) picking up stitches when my 3yo “helped” and (2) binding off. The first time I bound off it wasn’t stretchy at all, so I did some Google searching and found the yarn-over bind off, which worked great: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RAuk8iRSwJ4

Un-binding-off is an amusing exercise I hope never to repeat, but all’s well that ends well.

The final hat is not as slouchy as I’d hoped (I made the medium) but we’ll see how it looks on the intended wearer.

Leave a Reply

