Mashed Potato Pancakes with Kale

We have way too many potatoes, so for tonight’s dinner I took all 14, washed and chopped and boiled them, and turned half of them into savory pancakes:

20130420-095329.jpg

What I put in:
7 medium-sized potatoes (about 2 lbs)
1 cup milk
4 tbsp butter
2 eggs
2 frozen kale cubes (about 2/3 cup of blanched, packed kale)
5 very small onions, finely chopped
1 tbsp garlic

What I wish I had put in:
Another egg
Salt

Once the potatoes were boiled to tender, I drained them in a colander. They sat for a few minutes while I melted the butter in the same pan, then fried the onions until they were starting to turn clear. Then I turned off the heat, added the potatoes and milk, and mashed. The eggs and kale went in next, and I stirred everything with the potato masher until it was relatively smooth.

I heated my nonstick griddle to 350 F and ladled the batter 1/4c at a time onto the griddle. The first cakes didn’t stay together as well—they did a lot better nearer to the bottom of the bowl and/or when I started setting a timer and ignoring them until it went off. 6 minutes on a side seemed to really work, though more egg might make them even less crumbly. The later batches were coherent enough to cool on a rack and freeze, so we will see how they are reheated.

We served them with lox (which was yummy and made up for the lack of salt) and yogurt and applesauce, all of which went very well.

Leave a Reply

