Blueberry Scones

20130810-095807.jpg

My friend Ariel had a party a few weeks ago, when she returned from a trip to Wales, where she made the fluffiest scones I have ever had. When I asked for the recipe, she told me to Google “BBC scones”. That brought me to this page, which looks a lot like what she made. I don’t keep caster sugar or self-rising flour, so I found this page from King Arthur Flour on substituting normal flour and baking soda. Since I don’t have their pastry flour, I used a mix of all-purpose and cake flour (which their flours page says is 9.4% protein) to approximate a pastry flour blend.

    Blueberry Scones

Measure approximately 175g of all-purpose and 50g of pastry flour into a food processor bowl.

Add 2.5 tsp baking soda and .5 tsp salt. Pulse to mix

Pulse in 2 tbsp of butter until well mixed, and add a tablespoon of sugar.

Pour in 5 oz milk, and pulse until just combined. The dough will be quite sticky.

Turn the dough out onto a floured board. Knead gently and pat out into a round about 1″ thick.

Very gently, fold in about 1/4c of blueberries. (I had washed 1c, but there was no way to get them to all stay in. Even with 1/4c, there were berries rolling out all over the kitchen)

Carefully flatten again into a 1″ round. Cut with a dough card or butter knife into quarters, then divide each quarter in half.

20130810-095227.jpg

Place the scones on a baking sheet either greased or lined with parchment or a silicone liner. Brush with either milk or a whisked egg.

Bake at 425F for 12-15 minutes, until the tops start to brown a little. Serve with butter, ginger jam, lemon curd or plain (or clouted cream if you have it, I don’t!)

20130810-095604.jpg

Leave a Reply

