Avocado Muffins

One of my favorite little cafés, 3 Little Figs, has an avocado muffin that is surprisingly tasty. I asked them, one day, if they had a recipe. The worker said “I think it’s just a basic muffin recipe with half the butter replaced with avocado”. That’s not much of a recipe, since muffins vary a lot in fat content, but

I had just one avocado, so I scraped it out into a measuring cup to see what I had. One ripe avocado gave me 5 tablespoons of tasty green mush.

I used the “sweet and rich muffins” recipe from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, with the following changes:

  • I doubled the recipe.
  • I replaced 5 tbsp of butter with avocado.
  • I accidentally melted part of the butter.
  • I used only 3/4c sugar instead of 1.5c

Avocado Muffins

  • 7 tbsp butter plus 1 tbsp for greasing the pan
  • One ripe avocado, about 5 tbsp
  • 3/4c sugar
  • Beat the sugar and fats together in a stand mixer.

Leave a Reply

