Chocolate “waffle” cookies

I love chocolate waffle cookies. My mom made them, and dusted them in powdered sugar, but I can’t find the recipe she used anywhere even though I would have sworn I had it. This one is a close relative, though, so I thought we’d try it.

We don’t have a normal waffle iron, though—only a flip over Belgian style. I don’t usually mind, but a previous experiment showed me that the Belgian waffler is too big to make reasonable cookies. I was just given a cool snowflake pancake pan, though, so I thought that was worth a shot.

The batter is very thick, meant to stand up to being squished between two sides of the waffle iron. I found that I had to let the first side cook a little, flip and squish the half-baked cookie into the moulded pan, and then flip again once the second side had cooked to fully cook the first side. Since this meant taking a somewhat-imprinted cookie face and smushing it into the mould again, that side didn’t come out very neat.

The one side does look nice, though, and even if they looked terrible these would be great; the key to chocolatey flavor is letting the 4yo measure the 6 tablespoons of cocoa powder so that they were all pretty rounded. Extra chocolate FTW.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/577/47590491/files/2014/12/img_0058.jpg

Leave a Reply

