Cranberry Orange Cake

No matter what kind of fruit I buy, it seems like the kids eat all but a handful of them and then lose interest. I need a fallback plan for fruit. Apples turn into applesauce, bananas get frozen for banana bread or banana swirl, and oranges…

Oranges, it turns out, become cake.

I started with this GF recipe from Nigella Lawson. It’s lovely, it’s almond-y… and it wasn’t what I wanted today. For whatever reason, I wanted to boil the oranges with a cinnamon stick and use the boiling liquid as well as the orange pulp. So I did – I boiled 6 clementines with a cinnamon stick for a few hours, which made my house smell amazing. Then I pulled off the little hard flower pieces from the boiled oranges, checked for seeds and found none, and puréed the whole mess in the blender, giving me about 2.5-2.75 cups of purée. I used that in a recipe intended for pumpkin bread, skipped the nutmeg and ginger, and added frozen cranberries.

Cranberry Orange Bundt Cake

  • 6 whole clementines
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • Water to cover

Bring to a boil. Turn down to a simmer and cook partly covered 2-3 hours until the water is bright orange and the clementines are very soft.

Allow to cool and then purée in a blender. It should be about the consistency of canned pumpkin purée (maybe a little thinner) and 2.5-2.75 cups total.

  • 4 eggs
  • 300g sugar

Whisk eggs and mix in sugar and orange purée

  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 450 g flour
  • 8 oz frozen cranberries

Mix dry ingredients and stir into wet. Stir in cranberries to evenly distribute.

  • 1/2 cup butter (or other oil)

Melt butter in a Bundt pan and swirl around (or use a neutral oil and swirl around.

Pour in the batter and stir gently to mix some of the butter into the batter.

Bake at 350°F for 75 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean from near the center post of the pan. Allow to cool 5-10 minutes in the pan and then invert on a plate or platter.

Eat as-is or serve with whipped cream or ice cream.

Leave a comment